Varalakshmi Vratam 2017 : Lakshmi Pooja Tips for Fast in a Healthy Way – 4 August 2017

Vara -maha-lakshmi Vratam is mainly celebrated in the southern states like Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka and Tamil Nadu.


Lakshmi Ksheerasamudra rajatanyam Sri rangadhameswareem


Dasibootha samastha devavanitham lokaika deepamkuram

Sri manmanda kataksha labdhivibhat brahmendra gangadharam

Twamtrayamlokyakutumbhineem sasijavandemukunda priyam”


The Hindu festival going by the name ‘Vara maha Lakshmi Vrata‘ is celebrated on the Second Friday or the Friday before full moon day – Poornima in the month of Śravaṇā, also called Śawan in Hindi and Aadi in Tamil.

Varamahalakshmi Vrata is a festival to propitiate the goddess Lakshmi, the consort of Vishnu, one of the Hindu Trinity. Varalakshmi is one who grants boons (Varam).

Vara maha lakshmi Vrata is performed by married woman for the well being of all the family members, especially husband, to get progeny etc. It is believed that worshiping Goddess Varalakshmi on this day is equivalent to worshiping Ashtalaksmi – the eight goddesses of Wealth, Earth, Learning, Love, Fame, Peace, Pleasure, and Strength.

Eight forces things we have to know Siri (Wealth), Bhu (Earth), Sarasvathi (learning), Prithi (Love), Keerthi (Fame), Shanthi (Peace), Santhushti(Pleasure) and Pushti(Strength).


All married women who wanted varas or blessings of health, wealth and knowledge for their families started emulating the rituals.

  • This are the things women tend to do on Vara lakshmi Vratam day celebrations and prayer rituals, women clean their houses, and decorate photos or statues of Vara lakshmi with flowers.
  • Hindu prayer sessions- breaking of coconuts ,kalash full of water and a thali full of auspicious items like –turmeric, vermilion Offerings of sweets and fruits are made to the goddess.
  • Praying  Ashtalakshmi is one of the special tasks to be undertaken by devotes & worshiping Vara lakshmi is equivalent to worshiping the Ashtalakshmi.  lord Vishnu is called Ashtalakhsmi Pathi which is called as that he is the asylum of the eight forces. Pavitra Ekadashi Vrat Katha Dedicated to Lord Vishnu.

Varalakshmi Puja Muhurat and Vidhi


specific time or Lagna for long-lasting prosperity.
Simha Lagna Puja Muhurat = 06:44 to 09:01 (morning)
Duration = 2 Hours 17 Minutes
Vrishchika Lagna Puja Muhurat = 13:37 to 15:56 (afternoon)
Duration = 2 Hours 18 Minutes
Kumbha Lagna Puja Muhurat = 19:42 to 21:10 (evening)
Duration = 1 Hour 27 Minutes
Vrishabha Lagna Puja Muhurat = 24:10+ to 26:05+ (midnight)
Duration = 1 Hour 55 Minutes

Tips for Fast –

Eating FRuits – a mix of fruits instead of just eating one or two fruits throughout the day,if you have one fruit or the other every few hours. to get nutritious fibre without adding too more calories to the body.

DRINK WATER– water is more important drinking water for every half an hour so that you do not get dehydrated on this day.drink enough water so that you don’t faint.

Break-ing your fast – after completing pooja when you finally break -down the fast .
remember, that your body needs good food and eat more fruits & roasted vegetables, a bowl of curd instead of feasting on a plate full of your favourite items of food.

Varalakshmi Astottaranamavali
Om prakrutyi namaha
Om Vikrutyi namaha
Om Vidyayai namaha
Om Sarwabhoota hita pradai namaha
Om Sraddayai namaha
Om Vibootai namaha
Om Surabhai namaha
Om Paramatmikamai namaha
Om Vache namaha
Om Padmalai namaha
Om Padmai namaha
Om Suchai namaha
Om Swahai namaha
Om Swathatai namaha
Om Dhanyai namaha
Om Hiranmai namaha
Om Lakshmai namaha
Om Nityapushatai namaha
Om Vibhaavarayai namaha
Om Adityai namaha
Om Deeptai namaha
Om Vasudaai namaha
Om Kamalayai namaha
Om Kantayai namaha
Om Kamakshai namaha
Om Rakrodasambhavai namaha
Om Anugrahapradayai namaha
Om Buddai namaha
Om Anughooai namaha
Om Harivallabhai namaha
Om Asokhai namaha
Om Amrutai namaha
Om Deeptai namaha
Om Lokasokavinasinai namaha
Om Dharmanilayai namaha
Om Karunai namaha
Om Lokamatrai namaha
Om Padmapriyai namaha
Om Padmahastai namaha
Om Padmashai namaha
Om Padmasundrai namaha
Om Padmodbhavai namaha
Om Padmamukhai namaha
Om Padmamaladharai namaha
Om Ramaaai namaha
Om Daivai namaha
Om Padminai namaha
Om Padmagandhinai namaha
Om Punyagandhayai namaha
Om Suprasannai namaha
Om Prasadabhimukhai namaha
Om Prabhai namaha
Om Chandravadanai namaha
Om Chandrai namaha
Om Chandrasahodarai namaha
Om Chaturbhujai namaha
Om Chandraroopai namaha
Om Indirai namaha
Om Induseetalai namaha
Om Ahladajannai namaha
Om Pushtai namaha
Om Sivai namaha
Om Sivakartai namaha
Om Satai namaha
Om Vimalai namaha
Om Viswajannai namaha
Om Pushtai namaha
Om Daridraynasinai namaha
Om Preetipushkaranai namaha
Om Santai namaha
Om Sukla malyambarai namaha
Om Srivai namaha
Om Bhaskarai namaha
Om Bilwanilayai namaha
Om Vararohai namaha
Om Yasiswai namaha
Om Vasunadharai namaha
Om Vudaaragai namaha
Om Harinyai namaha
Om Hemamalinai namaha
Om Dhanadhayakartai namaha
Om Siddiai namaha
Om Shtanasowmayai namaha
Om Subhapradai namaha
Om Nrumavesmagataa nandanai namaha
Om Varalakshmai namaha
Om Vasupradaai namaha
Om Hiranyaprakrai namaha
Om Samudratanai namaha
Om Jayai namaha
Om Mangaladevai namaha
Om Mangalai namaha
Om Devayai namaha
Om Vishnuvakshastalastitai namaha
Om Vishnupatnai namaha
Om Prasannshai namaha
Om Nnarayana samasritrai namaha
Om Daridradamsai namaha
Om Daivai namaha
Om Sarvopradavarinai namaha
Om Navadurgai namaha
Om Mahakalai namaha
Om Brahamavishnusivatmikai namaha
Om Trikalagyana sampanai namaha
Om Bhuvaneswarai namaha
Om Varalakshmai namaha:

Related Post

Spread the love

Related posts